School Board | Christ Church Grammar School

School Board

Our School
School Board

The Board is responsible for all aspects of the governance of the school.

The Board of Christ Church Grammar School is responsible for all aspects of the governance of Christ Church Grammar School, as a not-for-profit organisation, and a company limited by guarantee. 

This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Succession planning with respect to the Principal and the Board and Committee members
  • Liaising with the Parish Council of Christ Church South Yarra, the Diocese of Melbourne, and other statutory and regulatory bodies, as required
  • Ensuring the school meets its obligations with respect to all aspects of compliance and accreditation
  • Collaborating with senior management on strategic and master planning processes
  • Undertaking risk assessment and management
  • Maintaining the school’s financial sustainability
  • Working with the Trustees of the Christ Church Grammar School Foundation and senior management to attract philanthropic support for scholarships and capital projects
  • Assisting senior management to promote, market, and position the school within the education sector; and
  • Supporting the Principal and the senior management team in exercising their delegated responsibilities with regard to the day-to-day running of the school

Board Structure

The Board comprises up to 12 Directors and is Chaired by Michael Urwin. 

The remaining Directors are appointed with reference to a skills matrix as follows:

  • Three Christ Church Grammar School community nominees
  • Three Director nominees
  • Three Parish Council nominees
  • One Vicar nominee
  • Michael Urwin, Chair
  • Alicia Sellars-Jones (current parent)
  • Sandra Treadwell-Monk
  • Ray Cleary 
  • Ian Hockings (current parent)
  • Amanda Powell 
  • Professor Jenny Proimos (former parent)
  • Nick Sankey (current parent)
  • Melissa Vallence (current parent)

The Company Secretary is Mark Licciardo, Managing Director of Mertons Company Services.

Standing Committees

Four Standing Committees support the work of the Board:

  • Governance
  • Finance, Audit and Facilities
  • Risk
  • Strategic Planning Steering

Each Standing Committee is chaired by a Director, and includes co-opted members from the wider community, of whom there are currently seven.

Ad hoc committees or working groups are created from time-to-time to meet particular needs.

Board and committee members have professional skills and experience in the fields of education (primary, secondary, and tertiary), business, finance, strategic planning, law, risk management, health sciences, corporate and not-for-profit governance, project management, marketing, pastoral care, and public policy.

The Board regularly undertakes reviews and training with the assistance of Independent Schools Victoria (ISV).

Board Members


Michael Urwin
B.A. (Hons), Dip.Ed. (Melb), FACE

Michael joined the Christ Church Grammar Board this year. He taught Mathematics and Chinese and was Headmaster of Brighton Grammar School for eighteen years, finishing in that role at the end of 2013. During that time he filled a number of external roles including Chair of the Victorian Branch of the Australian Heads of Independent Schools Association, and Trustee of the International Boys Schools Coalition. 

He also served on the Australian Anglican Schools Network Board of Management. 

Michael is a parishioner at the Anglican Parish of the Parks, St Silas and St Anselm. He is a member of the Melbourne Anglican Diocesan Schools Commission Board and is Chairman of the Board of Benetas, an Anglican-affiliated aged care company. 



Alicia Sellars-Jones
BComm (U of WA)

Alicia attended the University of Western Australia where she completed a Bachelor of Commerce majoring in Marketing and Business Law. She worked in Event Management in both Perth and Melbourne at major sporting events, dance festivals and community events. Alicia now works with her husband in their clothing business, encompassing three brands. 

Alicia has been a parent at CCGS since 2010  and joined Friends of Christ Church Grammar School in 2012. She became President of Friends of CCGS in 2020.

Alicia has five children who have all attended Christ Church Grammar School. She now has two boys in years 2 and 4.


Ian Hockings
BSc CompSci & Accountancy (Manchester)

Ian is Chair of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee and has been a member of the Board since June 2014.

He is a partner at PwC in their Consulting division and has advised clients across various industry sectors. Ian is a Fellow of the Institute Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia; the Information Systems Audit and Control Association; and Risk Management Australia. 

Ian brings a diverse range of experiences to the Board to assist the school achieve its vision, delivering on its purpose and mission and in living its culture and values.

He is married to Georgie and is father to four girls – Lily, Alice, Holly and Ruby – who have all been, or are currently, at Christ Church Grammar School.


Amanda Powell

Amanda is a Parish Council nominee to the Board and has been a Director since June 2015. Amanda currently chairs the Governance Committee and is a current member of the Risk Committee.

Amanda is a law and science graduate and has a background in public policy and the legislative process. She is keen to ensure good public sector governance and accountability, having worked in both the New Zealand and Queensland Parliaments, the New Zealand Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, and for the New Zealand Auditor-General. She also has a strong interest in ensuring good educational outcomes in early childhood, and currently works at the Victorian Department of Education and Training in the regulator of early childhood education and care services.


Prof Jenny Proimos

Jenny is an academic paediatrician and adolescent health physician working at the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne. She is a member of the Governance and Risks Committees.

She specialises in adolescent developmental and behavioural disorders, and school avoidance and disengagement. She has spent the past decade working as an advisor to the Victorian Government on child and adolescent health and wellbeing, focusing on health promotion at the health/education interface. 

She is the mother of two Christ Church Grammar School alumni: Jonathan, who is studying science at The University of Melbourne, and Poppy who is at St Catherine’s School. Both children developed their love of music, debating and community service at Christ Church Grammar.


Nick Sankey
BComm BA MAppFin (Melbourne) GAICD

Nick joined the Board in 2017 and is a member of the Finance and Facilities Committee. He is an institutional banking and finance executive specialising in project and infrastructure finance. Nick is a past Global Head of Project & Specialised Finance for Commonwealth Bank and has held various corporate and institutional banking roles at Commonwealth Bank, TD Securities and ANZ Bank.

Nick is a past Director of Sustainable Business Australia, a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and holds a masters degree in Applied Finance and bachelor degrees in commerce and arts, all obtained from University of Melbourne.

Nick is married to Angela and their three children – Arielle, William and Juliet – have attended, or are currently attending, Christ Church Grammar School.